Committees | BIAW

Committees & Councils

Accessible Housing Council

Scotty Lee Wilson, CAPS, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Karen Hall; 360-352-7800, ext. 137

The purpose of the Accessible Housing Council is to provide a venue for sharing information on topics within the accessible housing segment, such as building and remodeling; universal design; green, energy-efficient, low maintenance practices; consumer needs and solutions on current products; and, successful marketing strategies.

In addition, the council seeks to encourage cross-council interaction on education and legislation that impacts the accessible housing market segment. Learn more about the Accessible Housing Council and the annual trade show that takes place each year during BIAW's winter board meeting.

Associate Advisory Council

Chris Lockhart, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Brenda Kwieciak; 360-352-7800, ext. 113

The standing Associate Advisory Council is created for the following purposes and objectives: to provide guidance and direction in the development of activities, materials, policies and programs to increase Associate membership and involvement within BIAW; work to increase Associate member participation in industry advocacy; to support educational opportunities for all members; to encourage Associate member leadership development; and, to recognize contributions Associate members make to BIAW and NAHB and "Members Doing Business with Members" of the BIAW. The chair is the second vice president.

Bylaws and Nominations Committee

Matthew Clarkson, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Jackson Maynard; 360-352-7800, ext. 108

The Bylaws and Nominations Committee is comprised of the past presidents of BIAW, the current president and three voting directors appointed by the president. The purpose of this committee is to submit to the board of directors, proposed bylaws changes and nominations for elective offices. The chair is determined at the BIAW winter board meeting.

Education Committee

Diane Glenn, CGP, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Hillary Vanatta; 360-352-7800, ext. 106

The Education Committee shall be composed of the chair, vice chair and one representative appointed by each local association. The chair may also appoint two additional associate members to the committee. The purpose of the committee is to develop short and long-term plans to support increased educational opportunities for Association members.

Executive Officers' Council

Angela White, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Karen Hall; 360-352-7800, ext. 137

The Executive Officers’ Council is comprised of the executive officers of BIAW’s 14 local associations. The purpose of the Council is to create a forum for the sharing of ideas and information among the state and local association executive officers and staff in the state of Washington; to promote cooperation on issues requiring action and involvement of local associations and to provide an opportunity for input and feedback from the local associations on projects and programs undertaken by the Association.

Health Insurance Trust

Rick Hjelm, CGR, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Hannah Marcley; 360-352-7800, ext. 118

The BIAW Health Insurance Trust manages the BIAW Health Insurance Program. It consists of five members who are elected by health insurance program participants and are enrolled in the BIAW Health Insurance Program. Each serves three-year terms.

Legal Committee

Nathan Smith, Co-Chair
BIAW staff contact: Jackson Maynard; 360-352-7800, ext. 108

The Legal Committee is comprised of attorneys and other land use technical experts. The Committee chair shall be appointed by the president and the chair shall appoint an additional 10-12 committee members.

Legislative Policy Committee

Kurt Wilson, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Jan Himebaugh; 360-352-7800, ext. 135

The Legislative Policy Committee (LPC) consists of: the LPC chair (appointed by the BIAW First Vice President), president, first vice president, second vice president, treasurer, secretary, immediate past president, WAHC chair, State Building Code Council representative, 12 members appointed by the LPC Chair, and one appointee from each local association. The LPC examines, analyzes and reviews existing and proposed legislation and regulations which affect members of the BIAW. The Committee then determines legislative policy on behalf of the Association.

Local Association Presidents' Council

Michael Shanaberger, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Greg Lane; 360-352-7800, ext. 102

The purpose of the Local Association Presidents’ Council is to provide a forum for local association elected leaders to promote professional leadership, share issues, ideas and common concerns and enhance communications among local presidents, particularly those issues that have statewide significance. The Council shall be composed of current local association presidents. chair and vice chair are determined at the BIAW winter board meeting.

Member Services Corporation

Dave Main, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Mark Shaffer; 360-352-7800, ext. 111

The BIAW Member Services Corporation (MSC) is the BIAW for-profit subsidiary. The BIAW president, first vice president and second vice president serve as directors in addition to one director nominated by the BIAW Past President's Council; two R.O.I.I.® Select participants; and, three BIAW members at large nominated by the MSC Board and elected by the BIAW board of directors. Other than the president, first vice president and second vice president, each director serves a three-year term.

Membership Committee

LouAnne Neill, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Karen Hall; 360-352-7800, ext. 137

The purpose of the Membership Committee is to develop short and long-range plans for the continued growth of BIAW; provide guidance to local associations in planning for membership growth, and act as liaison to the National Association of Home Builders in obtaining new membership tools and ideas. The chair is BIAW secretary and vice chair who is appointed by the BIAW first vice president and moves into the chair position the following year.

Past Presidents' Council

Kevin Russell, CGP, MCGP, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Greg Lane; 360-352-7800, ext. 102

The purpose of the Past Presidents’ Council is to be a sounding board for any member of BIAW and to promote statewide membership. All past presidents of BIAW shall be members. The chair is determined at the BIAW winter board meeting.


Aaron Marvin, CAPS, CGP, CGR, CGB, Certified Builder, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Al Audette; 360-352-7800, ext.105

The purpose of the BIAW Remodelers is to encourage legislation which benefits the remodeling industry; offer and promote education courses designed to enhance the individual remodeler; and, provide unique networking opportunities and workshops for BIAW remodeler members throughout the year.

Washington Affordable Housing Committee

Gary Wray, Chair
BIAW staff contact: Jan Himebaugh; 360-352-7800, ext. 135

The Washington Affordable Housing Council (WAHC) consists of two members from each of the BIAW local associations, appointed biannually by the local association president. The remaining 15 members are allocated according to the percentage of total financial support.